Bridgeport Defends SPMFL Title

The Bridgeport Braves, the South Perth Men’s Fastball League (SPMFL) regular season champs and the defending league champs, successfully defended their championship – but they did it the hard way Sunday, winning five consecutive games up the loser’s side of the 16-team bracket in the playoff tournament in Mitchell Sept. 15-17. They defeated the previously unbeaten Elmira Cubs twice in the final, 4-3 and then in the sudden-death final 3-1. Top pitcher award winner, lefthander Todd Winkworth, pitched three consecutive wins Sunday, a 4-3 eight-inning triumph over the Elmira Jrs, a 3-1 victory over the Sebringville Sting, and the first win over the Cubs before running out of gas. Veteran Jim Schnarr earned the save in their initial win over Elmira, then he pitched the complete-game victory in the final. MVP Mike Kelly, also of Bridgeport, was tremendous offensively and defensively, shining with the glove throughout the day along with
fellow middle infielder Jay Schnarr. It was a special birthday for the 41-year-old Kelly, who started the Braves’ roll with a game-winning RBI over the Elmira Jrs in the bottom of the eighth inning, rallying the club from a 3-0 deficit. Kelly went a stellar 9-for-14 in the five games Sunday.

1st – Bridgeport
2nd – Elmira Cubs
3rd – Sebringville
4th – Elmira Jrs.

Sunday results

25 – Elmira Jrs 6, Moorefield 1
WP – Luke Hiller LP – Mel Ross HR – Ben Wideman (Elmira)

26 – Bridgeport 7, Mitchell 6
WP – Don Harris SV – Jim Schnarr LP – Garnet Kraemer HRs – Jeff Pauli
(Mitchell), Jodie Schnarr, Don Harris (Bridgeport)

27 – Elmira Cubs 2, Sebringville 1
WP – Casey Halstead LP – Don Scott

28 – Bridgeport 4, Elmira Jrs 3 (8-inn)
WP – Todd Winkworth LP – Dan Martin (in relief of Jon Hiller) HR – Don
Ha rris (Bridgeport)

29 – Bridgeport 3, Sebringville 1
WP – Todd Winkworth LP – Don Stebbings

30 – Bridgeport 4, Elmira Cubs 3
WP – Todd Winkworth SV – Jim Schnarr LP – Casey Halstead (in relief of
Ryan French)

31 – Bridgeport 3, Elmira Cubs 1
WP – Jim Schnarr LP – Casey Halstead

MVP – Mike Kelly, Bridgeport
Top Pitcher – Todd Winkworth, Bridgeport
Regular Season Champions – Bridgeport Braves
SPMFL Playoff Champions – Bridgeport Braves
Journal-Argus award for longtime service, dedication – Jon Bailey
(formerly of St. Pauls Generals)
Doug Smith umpire award – Jim Heckman

Comments are closed.