Snappers win Lackawanna title

The Niagara Snappers competed in the 2nd annual Mickey Brennan Memorial Tournament in Lackawanna, NY and came away with the title after losing their first game and having to play 7 more to win it including 5 on the Sunday. The Snappers got themselves into a hole early by losing to Ricola’s of New Jersey by a score of 1-0. Corey Costello and Jeff VanHooser locked into a classic pitchers battle with each giving up only 1 hit in the game and Costello striking out 19 to VanHooser’s 15.

(Editor’s Note: VanHooser is expected to be with #20 Ashland, OH Merchants at the ToC.)

The Snappers then reeled off victories of 11-2, 10-3, 8-1, 7-1, and 3-2 to make it back to the finals to face Ricola’s again. The offence would make up for their earlier mistakes at the Snappers pounded out 10-2 and 7-0 (mercy) victories to lay claim to the title. For the weekend, the Snappers outscored their opponents 56-12.

This was the first time for the Snappers in this tournament and we want to congratulate everyone associated with it. From the grounds crew to the umpires to the concessions, everything was top notch. We look forward to visiting next year to defend the title.

Peter Dobbin of the Snappers was named the tournament MVP going 14-26 for the weekend with 4 walks and 4 home runs.

Following is a brief summary of the tournament:

1-0 loss to Ricola’s (Corey Costello 1 hit, 19 k’s)
11-2 win against Bear’s Den (Dan Duemo 10k)
10-3 win against Cleveland Red Eye (Jason Paylove 5k)
8-1 win against Big John’s (Byron Demoe 15k)
7-1 win against LA Lounge (Dan Duemo 10k)
3-2 win against #20 Ashland Merchants (Corey Costello 15k)
10-2 win against Ricola’s (Byron Demoe 7k)
7- 0 win against Ricola’s (Dan Duemo 3k)

Home Runs

Peter Dobbin 4
Matt Bedroisian 2
Scott Young 2
Todd Dawdy 2
Trevor Falk 1
Kevin Newhouse 1
Corey Costello 1

Dan Bernard
Niagara Snappers

Comments are closed.