Port Elgin, ON Blue Devils clinch berth in 2005 ISC II ToC

Hillsburgh, Ontario
September 25, 2004

Congratulations to the Port Elgin Blue Devils who became the first team to clinch a berth in the 2005 ISC II Tournament of Champions in Chippewa Falls, WI with a last inning victory to win the Ontario ISC II Challenge Cup.

The Ontario ISC II Challenge Cup brought together 12 teams representing 8 leagues comprised of 96 clubs from across Ontario to battle it out in a double knockout format for the coveted berth in the 2005 Tournament of Champions.

Facing a scrappy Ingersoll Centennials team that had forced Port Elgin to the “if” game, the Blue Devils manufactured a two-out run in the bottom of the seventh to win the championship with some help from controversial call on the final play.

Port Elgin tied the game 3-3 in the bottom of the sixth inning on a lead-off home run by Aaron Whitney. Rick Johnson had staked Ingersoll to an early 2-0 lead with a home run in the first inning.

Winning pitcher and Tournament MVP was Scott Christie of the Blue Devils.

In reaching the final, Ingersoll eliminated Niagara Snappers, who earlier knocked out Breslau KJ Sox in the first of four games on the day at Barbour Field in Hillsburgh in south-central Ontario.

Thanks to tournament hosts Terry Bennett and the Hillsburgh Minor Softball Association for all their work in the rain back in August and for bringing these four fine teams back to finish the tournament.

Game summaries:
game 20 Niagara Snappers 9 Breslau KJ Sox 3
WP: Dan Duemo
LP: Kevin Pomfret, relief Mike Pinder
Snappers: Scott Young HR Game MVP
Mike Bateman HR
Snappers score four in the first inning and never look back.

game 21 Ingersoll Centennials 2 Niagara Snappers 1
WP: Adam Martin
LP: Dan Duemo
Centennials: Adam Martin 2 RBIs Game MVP

Game MVP Adam Martin allowed base runners in every inning except the seventh but never gave up a timely hit to lead Ingersoll over Niagara.

Ingersoll Centennials celebrate their win over Niagara Snappers.

game 22 Ingersoll Centennials 4 Port Elgin Blue Devils 3
WP: Adam Martin
LP: Rob Fawcett
Centennials: Rick Johnson HR Game MVP
See-saw game had Blue Devils break out on top only to have Ingersoll answer back. Johnson’s HR is the difference.

Action from the Ontario ISC II Challenge Cup Final between Ingersoll Centennials and Port Elgin Blue Devils

More action from the final between Port Elgin and Ingersoll.

game 23 Port Elgin Blue Devils 4 Ingersoll Centennials 3
WP: Scott Christie
LP: Rick Johnson in relief of Adam Martin
Blue Devils: Scott Christie 3B, 2B Tournament MVP
Aaron Whitney HR
Ryan Whitney GWRBI
Centennials: Rick Johnson 2-run HR
Ryan Whitney lays down a 2-out bunt single to score pinch runner Brian Lantz from third for the winning run. Christie’s double had moved Lantz over from first to set up the final play.

From August 29
With the weather playing havoc with the schedule, the Ontario ISC II Challenge Cup is down to four teams with games to be resumed in Hillsburgh on Saturday, September 25.

First round games:
game 1 Niagara Snappers 2 KW Thunder 1
WP: Dan Duemo 7IP 8H 1R 6K 1BB
Kevin Newhouse 3-3;
Trevor Falk 1-3 RBI 3B;
Jarrod Burtt 1-3 RBI

game 2 Hillsburgh Stallions 6 Breslau KJ Sox 4

game 3 Mitchell Mets 10 Shelbourne Schooners 3

game 4 Morriston A’s 7 Norwich Razorbacks 0 (forfeit)

Winner’s bracket:
game 5 Ingersoll Centennials 7 Niagara Snappers 6
WP: Adam Martin
LP: Jason Paylove 4IP 7H 4R 3K 0BB in relief of Perry Bartley
Trevor Falk 1-3 3 RBIs 2 runs;
Jarrod Burtt 2-4 2 RBIs;
Mike Batemen 2-3

game 6 Kingston Cowboys 4 Hillsburgh 2

game 7 Highgate Rock 7 Mitchell 0

game 8 Port Elgin Blue Devils 6 Morriston A’s 4
WP: Rob Fawcett
LP: Drew Hathway
Drew Hathway 3-run HR, solo HR 4RBIs
Warren Williams 2-4

game 15 Ingersoll 2 Kingston 1

game 16 Port Elgin 8 Highgate 1

game 19 Port Elgin 9 Ingersoll 2

Loser’s bracket
game 9 Niagara 5 Shelbourne 4 – 8 inn
WP: Jason Paylove 4.2IP 4H 1R 1K 1BB in relief of Mike Bateman
Trevor Falk 2-4 HR;
Kevin Newhouse 3-3 2BB
Matt Bedrosian 2-4 RBI

game 10 Hillsburgh 7 Norwich 0 (forfeit)

game 11 KW 6 Mitchell 3

game 12 Breslau 7 Morriston 4
LP: Kevin Williams
Warren Williams 2-4

game 13 Niagara 9 Hillsburgh 0
WP: Dan Duemo 5IP 2H 0R 7K 0BB
Trevor Falk 3-4 2HRs 4 RBIs;
Jarrod Burtt 2-3 RBI

game 14 Breslau 4 KW 3

game 17 Breslau 10 Kingston 4

game 18 Niagara 7 Highgate 3 – 9 inn
WP: Dan Duemo 9IP 3R 6H 11K 7BB
Trevor Falk 2-5;
Kevin Newhouse 1-5 2-RBI 3B
Jarrod Burtt 2-3 2 RBIs
Mike Bateman 2-5 2 RBIs
Peter Dobbin 2-2 2BBs

posted by Blair Setford, ISC II Commissioner on behalf of
Bob McGowan, ISC Eastern Canada Area Commissioner
Photos by Joe Todd

Comments are closed.