Archive for July, 2007

Snappers head into ToC as top seed followed by Lumberkings & Tavistock

Friday, July 6th, 2007

July 6, 2007 – The Niagara Snappers will go in the 2007 ISC II Tournament of Champions as the unanimous top seed with the release of the final ISC II rankings today.

The Snappers will try to become the first top-ranked ISC II team to win the ToC.

Moving up two spots to #2 are the California LumberKings, who played ISC heavyweights Broken Bow Gremlins and SoCal Bombers extremely tough in Portland and will be in Aurora, IL next weekend.

Rounding out the top seven who will head up the seven pools at the ToC are the defending champion Tavistock Merchants, Cutro Professional Inspections, Palermo Athletics, Ottawa Team Easton Thunder and Elora Wellington Brewers.

The top 10 are as follows with the previous period’s ranking in brackets:

1. (1) Niagara, ON Snappers
2. (4) Bakersfield, CA Lumberkings
3. (5) Tavistock, ON Merchants
4. (8) Oswego, NY Cutro Professional Inspections
5. (6) Palermo, ON Athletics
6. (9) Ottawa, ON Team Easton Thunder
7. (2) Elora, ON Wellington Brewers
8. (7) Perkasie, PA Rise
9. (12) Port Elgin, ON Blue Devils
10. (10) South Lebanon, PA TNT

To see the full list, including how each committee member ranked the teams, please see the ISC II section of the ISC website at

The rankings will form the basis for seeding teams in the sixth annual ISC II Tournament of Champions which will be played August 14-18 at Budd Park in Kitchener and Kinsmen Park in Cambridge, Ontario. The ToC will feature 35 teams playing a four-game round robin schedule in seven pools of five teams each. The top three teams from each pool along with three wildcards will advance to a single elimination playoff bracket.

With the rankings complete, look for the schedule to be released next week.

For more information, please contact:

Blair Setford
ISC II Commissioner
Email: blairjs(at)

ISC II Roster Reminder

Friday, July 6th, 2007

(click link to visit official site)

ISC II Tournament of Champions
August 14-18, 2007
Budd Park and Riverside Park
Kitchener and Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

This is a reminder to all teams entering the ISC II Tournament of Champions that another roster is due July 15. This one is primarily for the Kitchener Committee to use in the printed tournament programs. Rosters are to be completed on your computer, in excel and then sent as an email attachment.

As you update your previously submitted rosters, please make sure positions, uniform numbers and hometowns are included as they want that information in the program.

The final roster will be due August 6 and that will be the official team roster for the two championship tournaments.

Send rosters to:

ISC II Tournament of Champions

If teams fail to submit a roster by July 15, the team won’t be shown in the tournament program or we will use the original roster submitted last May.

Roster forms are available here.

#12 Port Elgin Blue Devils win Wyevale tournament

Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007

Wyevale, ON

Port Elgin exacts some revenge on Bucktown for a losses at the Innerkip qualifier last weekend and in last year’s semi finals in Wyevale. Port Elgin built a 5-0 lead in the first inning and cruised to victory from there going 6-0 on the weekend and capturing the championship and the Diamond Head Sprinkler $1500 first prize. Bucktown proved that their results in Innerkip should not be considered out of the ordinary as they once again make it to the final while beating some quality teams along the way (#11 Kitchener Outlaws, #27 Scarborough Wolverines, #6 Palermo Athletics).

We would like to thank all of the teams, umpires, and fans who made the event our best yet, and look forward to making improvements in 08 to make it an even better event.


Wyevale 1
Scar Royals 0
WP – Giffen (1H)
LP – Skelton

Port Elgin 11
Orangeville 3
WP – Ketchell
LP – Detta

Bucktown 3
Scar Wolverines 0
WP – Hopkins
LP – Dalgarno

Palermo 5
Minesing 3
WP – McColl got start but not sure if he was pitcher of record
LP – McNabb
Prowse – 2 Run Walk Off Jack in bottom of 7th


Port Elgin 4
Wyevale 2
WP – Christie
LP – McLaughlin

Bucktown 7
Palermo 4
WP – Hopkins
LP – Scott


Port Elgin 7
Bucktown 3
WP – Hamilton
LP – Hopkins

Tournament MVP – Steve Ketchell
Bucktown MVP – Darrin Jacobs

Michael Kelly
Tribe Fastball Club


CPI wins Croghan qualifier

Monday, July 2nd, 2007

ISC II #8 Oswego, NY Cutro Professional Inspections won the Croghan, NY tournament this weekend and a berth in the 2007 ISC II Tournament of Champions.

CPI beat Prospect Fireman out of NY in the finals 3 to 0. Shaun Winship was the winner and Greg Garrity loser as CPI avanged an earlier loss to the Fireman. In the semi-final, CPI beat Hoyt’s Collision 7 to 2 with Charlie Walseman getting the win over Justin Heyman.

Tournament scores:

Friday June 30th 7PM

New Bremen 0
WP Shawn Samson 4H’s 9K’s
LP Scott Kloster

Memories 3
Napanee Jr. 1
WP Sam Moore 3H’s 5K’s
LP Jordan MacDonald 3H’s 8K’s

Saturday 9AM

Northern Merchants 1
Adirondack Steel 0

WP Jason Smith 2H’s 17K’s
LP Justin Haymen 3H’s 6K’s

Hoyts Collision 3
Prospect 1

WP Daryl Widrick 3H’s 7K’s
LP Dennis Williams 4H’s 9K’s

Adirondack 8
Memories 4
WP Justin Haymen
LP MIke leenox

Hoyts 1
WP Shawn Samson
LP Jeff Moyer

Memories 4
Northern Merchants 3
WP Greg Kloster
LP Dan Konkle in relief of Tom Haver 6IP

Prospect 3
WP Greg Garrity
LP Shawn Samson

Northen Merchants 2
Napanee Jr Express 1
WP Dan Konkle
LP Jordan MacDonald

Saturday New Bremen Results

Prospect 6
New Bremen 1
WP Greg Garrity
LP Scott KLoster

Adirondack 7
Napanee Jr 6
WP Justin Haymen
LP Andy Madden

Hoyts 8
New Bremen 7

End of pool play
Sunday 9 AM results single elimination

Northern Merchants 8
New Bremen o
WP Tom Haver
LP JOe Lyndaker

Napanee 1
WP Charlie Walseman

PA Power win Allentown tourney

Monday, July 2nd, 2007

ISC II #17 Harrisburg, PA PA Power won the Allentown 4th of July tournament, beating #7 Hoffman Rise twice and #10 TNT along the way. As a result of #14 Wilkes-Barre, PA Keating’s Fitness beating Lebanon TNT in Round Robin play, they win the ISC II Qualifier berth (Rise/Hoffman and PA Power have previously won berths). TNT will be awarded the berth from the MAFTL.

Division 1
Keatings 3-0
South Lebanon 2-1
Cornerstone 1-2
Allentown Patriots 0-3
Division 1 Winner – Keating Fitness

Division 2
PA Power 3-0
Hoffman Rise 2-1
Landis Markets 1-2
NJ A’s 0-3
Division 2 Winner – PA Power

Playoff results
Game 1
Hoffman Rise – 7
Keating Fitness – 0
WP – Mike Smith
LP – Rob Fawcett

Game 2
PA Power – 5
Lebanon TNT – 3
WP – Dave Stokes
LP – Jeremy Tracy

Championship Game
PA Power – 5
Hoffman/Rise – 4
WP – Dave Stokes
LP – Tom Vogel